Player of the Year Finalists

Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the 2019 All-World Boys Soccer Player of the Year. All three are invited to the third All-World Awards banquet June 22, where the winner will be announced. Click here to buy tickets to the All-World Awards banquet.

Will Edwards

MF, Jenks, Jr.

An All-World first team selection last year, Edwards delivered another outstanding performance in 2019. Contributed 14 goals and 12 assists to help the Trojans complete a perfect 18-0 season and claim the Class 6A state championship with a 2-1 shootout victory over Union, which defeated them 4-0 in the state final the year before. Committed to the University of Tulsa.

Grant King

MF, Booker T. Washington, Sr.

As the attacking center mid, King drove the Hornets’ offense, scoring 31 goals, including nine game-winners, and 15 assists. Helped lead Booker T. Washington to its best season in eight years, with a 14-3 record, the District 5A-4 title and a spot in the Class 5A state semifinals, where it lost 2-1 in a lengthy shootout to OKC Northwest Classen. Will play next year at Rogers State in Claremore, where he received a full academic scholarship.

Brennan Whalen

GK, Bishop Kelley, Sr.

Whalen, who was also an All-World first team selection last year, completed his high school career by making nine saves — several of them difficult — in a 2-0 shutout victory over OKC Northwest Classen in the Class 5A state final to help Kelley win its third straight title. Posted 12 shutouts and allowed just 11 goals all season, including just one goal in 11 games against 5A competition. Over the past two years the Comets starter went 22-0 vs. 5A teams, allowing just five goals total in those matches. Will attend Division II Mars Hill University in North Carolina next year.

First team

Brooks Bonnallie, D, Bishop Kelley, junior

Logan Campbell, GK, Union, senior

Hector Dimas, MF, East Central, junior

Jose Estrada, F, Fort Gibson, sophomore

Alex Garcia, MF, Broken Arrow, senior

Dax Hayes, F, Booker T. Washington, senior

Giovanni Herrera, D, Union, senior

Jack Wright, F, Regent Prep, junior


Todd Friend, Fort Gibson

Lost 18 seniors, including eight starters, off his team that won its second straight Class 4A state championship last season. He also endured a difficult health scare last summer and fall, which resulted in him receiving a kidney transplant. Bounced back to guide an inexperienced squad to a 14-4-1 record, another District 4A-6 crown and back to the 4A state final, where the Tigers fell 3-1 to OKC Southeast.

Second team

Caleb Anderson, GK, Broken Arrow, junior

Sebastian Estrada, MF, Bishop Kelley, senior

Blake Faulkner, D, Fort Gibson, senior

A.J. Franklin, GK, Jenks, senior

Noah Gonsalves, MF, Jenks, junior

Ethan Gordon, D, Booker T. Washington, freshman

Sebastian Hernandez, F, Broken Arrow, senior

Braden Hudgins, MF, Bishop Kelley, senior

Cooper King, MF, Bishop Kelley, sophomore

Richard Rosales, F, East Central, senior

Paul Said, F, Holland Hall, sophomore

Honorable mention

Bishop Kelley: Jack Barkley, Austin Rodgers, Ethan Udrisky

Booker T. Washington: Kareem Bahar

Bristow: Zach Gaskins

Claremore: Blake Classen

Claremore Sequoyah: Braxton Bulman

Daniel Webster: Manuel Camarena, Isaiah Clayton

Fort Gibson: Seth Rowans

Jenks: Misael Mendez

Hilldale: Max James, Latham Weaver

Holland Hall: Pato Padilla

Pryor: Chris Rowland

Regent Prep: Joshua Elliott, Joshua Haney

Sapulpa: Spencer Braswell, Tyson Scott

Stillwater: Mason Bratton

Union: Adolfo Bustos, Francisco Lopez, Austin Moreno, Marcos Moreno

Verdigris: Preston Platten

Victory Christian: Dani Marques, Tako Nkomo

How the team was picked

Nomination forms were emailed to athletic directors and coaches in the All-World area. Schools within 60 miles of downtown Tulsa and schools within 75 miles of downtown in a town with a population of 5,000 or more are considered to be in the All-World area. Freshmen through seniors were eligible. World sports correspondent John Tranchina made the final selections after reviewing the forms and consulting with coaches.

Previous winners

Player of the year

2018: Ruben Carrasco, Union

2017: Austin Wormell, Bishop Kelley

2016: Koleson Freeman, Verdigris

2015: Munashe Raranje, Jenks

2014: Colton Jackson, Skiatook

2013: Tomiwa Olaniran, B.T. Washington

2012: Cristian Mata, Union

2011: Max Moller, Bishop Kelley

2010: Omar Mata, Union

2009: Cody Mumma, Jenks

2008: Thomas Shannon, Broken Arrow

2007: Jon Gann, Union

2006: Jonathan Medcalf, Jenks

2005: Levi Coleman, Broken Arrow

Coach of the Year

2018: Phil Barkley, Bishop Kelley

2017: Shane Schwab, Broken Arrow

2016: Justin Phillip, Verdigris

2015: John Timmons, Jenks

2014: Thor Campbell, Skiatook

2013: Robert Wakeley, B.T. Washington

2012: Robby Huerta, Cascia Hall

2011: Alex Miranda, Broken Arrow

2010: Donivan Bradshaw, Bishop Kelley

2009: Donivan Bradshaw, Bishop Kelley

2008: Mickey Miller, B.T. Washington

2007: Jason Jedamski, Union

2006: Derek Larkin, Bishop Kelley

Featured video

Get your All-World Awards tickets for the June 22 event celebrating high school athletics at

Photo gallery: Here are the 2018-19 fall and winter sports finalists for the third annual All-World Awards in June

Mike Brown


Twitter: @mikebrownTW