Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Eight area school board seats, 1 bond package on Tuesday's ballot

Eight area school board seats, 1 bond package on Tuesday's ballot

  • Updated
  • 0
September 18, 1990: Oklahoma voters limit terms of legislators (copy) (copy)

Tulsa-area polling places will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday for a number of school board and bond issue elections.

Polls will be open Tuesday for voters across portions of the Tulsa area for eight school board seats and a bond proposal.

Along with a bond proposal before voters in Liberty Public Schools, school board seats are up for grabs in Tulsa, Union, Berryhill, Owasso, Sand Springs, Sperry and Wagoner, plus a seat on the Tulsa Technology Center’s board of education.

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In Tulsa Public Schools, northside voters will be asked to choose between David Harris and incumbent Jennettie Marshall for the District 3 seat.

Schools in District 3 include Anderson, Burroughs, Celia Clinton, Hamilton, Hawthorne, John Hope Franklin and Whitman elementary schools; Unity Learning, Greenwood Leadership, Dual Language and Monroe Demonstration academies; Central Middle School; and McLain and Central high schools.

In Union Public Schools, Kasey Magness and Joey Reyes are vying to succeed outgoing Zone 1 representative Jeff Bennett.

The campuses of Boevers, McAuliffe and Rosa Parks elementary schools are within the boundaries of Zone 1, along with portions of the attendance areas for Grove, Jefferson, Moore, Ochoa and Peters elementary schools.

To the north, voters in Owasso Public Schools’ Ward 1 will get to choose between Stephanie Ruttman and Rick Lang. The pair finished atop a five-candidate field in February to replace outgoing board President Pat Vanatta to represent the district’s northeast side.

Tammy Sam-Hunter is challenging current board clerk April Bowman for Sperry Public Schools’ seat No. 1. The office carries a five-year term.

Miranda Hampton and Whitney Wagers are running in Sand Springs Public Schools’ District 1.

In Berryhill, Allisha Phillips Craig is challenging current board President Jack Lollis for seat No. 1.

For Tulsa Technology Center’s District No. 6, Paul Kroutter Jr. is challenging incumbent Sharon Whelpley. The board seat’s district includes portions of southeast Tulsa and Broken Arrow.

In Wagoner, Tamera Belvin and Alisha Phelps are seeking to replace Tresa Petre for seat No. 1. Petre, the board’s current vice president, chose not to seek another term.

To the south, Liberty Public Schools, which straddles the Tulsa-Okmulgee county line, is putting a bond package before voters. Along with a new mower, the $340,000 proposition would pay for repairs and maintenance for the district’s HVAC, drainage and plumbing systems.

Area school board races that drew only one candidate this election cycle include Bixby, Broken Arrow, Jenks, Keystone, Liberty, Skiatook and two seats with Glenpool Public Schools.

Featured video:

Tens of millions of state dollars could potentially be shifted to charter schools in a lawsuit settlement State Superintendent Joy Hofmeister believes violates state law.

Epic Charter Schools: A Tulsa World investigation


Want to see more like this?

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

I am a third-generation graduate of Oklahoma State University and a board member for both Oklahoma SPJ and the Native American Journalists Association. When not chasing stories, I'm usually chasing my children or our pets.

Related to this story

Most Popular

  • Updated

Dr. John H. Schumann, who has been president for the last six years, is leaving to take a clinical position with Oak Street Health, officials said. James J. Sluss Jr., currently associate vice president for academic affairs, will serve as acting president.

  • Updated

According to unofficial returns released by the Oklahoma State Election Board, each proposition received at least 70% of the votes cast. State law requires a 60% supermajority for school bonds to pass.

  • Updated

Free meals are available to children ages 18 and under all summer through almost 1,400 meal sites operated under the Summer Food Service Program. Area school districts hosting summer meal programs include Bixby, Skiatook, Broken Arrow, Sapulpa, Claremore, Jenks, Bartlesville, Pawhuska, Bristow, Union and Tulsa. 

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News