Player of the Year finalists

Listed alphabetically, here are the three finalists for the 2019 All-World Boys Golf Player of the Year. All three are invited to the third All-World Awards banquet on June 22, where the winner will be announced. Click here to buy tickets to the All-World Awards banquet.

Kyle Peterson

Bixby, Sr.

Spartans’ two-year captain saved his best for last. Was second in the 6A regional at Bailey Ranch and surged to a career-best tie for third in the state meet after finishing seventh as a junior. Roared from ninth place with a final-round, year’s best score of 70 at Edmond’s Rose Creek Country Club. Won the Bartlesville Invitational, was fourth at Broken Arrow and sixth in the Frontier Conference meet, helping Spartans win the team title. Will bypass college golf to attend Oklahoma State and hopes to operate his own business someday.

Jackson White

Regent Prep, Sr.

Finished third in the 3A state tournament, helping the Rams win a second consecutive team title. Fired three consecutive 69 rounds at Tulsa Country Club and birdied his final hole. “A fun way to end my career,” he said. Was eighth last year as Regent captured the 2A team title at Oklahoma City’s Lake Hefner course. Finished ninth or higher in seven of his eight tournaments as a senior. Scored 33 on the ACT. Will bypass college golf and plans to study mechanical engineering at John Brown University in Siloam Springs, Arkansas.

Davis Woodliff

Bishop Kelley, Sr.

Finished sixth or higher in his final three trips to the 5A state tournament. Was third as a senior, second as a junior and sixth as a sophomore for the Comets’ state team champs in 2017. Had a 72.9 stroke average as a senior and was sixth or higher in all seven of his tournaments. Won the Sand Springs Invitational, the 5A State Preview and the regional at Owasso Golf & Athletic Club with a 36-hole total of 139. Signed with Samford, an NCAA Division I school near Birmingham, Alabama. Wants to attend law school and become a sports agent.

First team

Kyle Peterson, Sr., Bixby

JP Roller, Jr., Regent Prep

Ben Stoller, Fr., Owasso

Jackson White, Sr., Regent Prep

Davis Woodliff, Sr., Bishop Kelley

Second team

Logan Brooks, Jr., Berryhill

Jack Glenn, Sr., Stillwater

Drew Mabrey, Fr., Holland Hall

Brayden Strickland, Jr., Lincoln Christian

Brett Wilcoxen, Jr., Owasso

COACH OF THE YEAR: Corey Burd, Owasso

Corey Burd

Owasso golf coach Corey Burd

Guided a retooled squad to a second 6A state title in his six seasons as adjunct head coach. Also coached the Rams to the 2015 crown, followed by three straight runner-up finishes, and had a third-place finish in 2014. Led by freshman Ben Stoller’s second-round 68 at Edmond’s Rose Creek Country Club, the Rams rallied to end Edmond North’s three-year 6A championship reign. Burd, director of golf and general manager for Owasso’s Bailey Ranch Golf Club, played football, basketball and baseball for Kingfisher High School, but not golf. He took up the game “recreationally” while attending Oklahoma State University and has been a club professional for 19 years.

Honorable mention

Bartlesville: Taton Hopkins, Carson Rainbolt

Bishop Kelley: Matt Barlow, Owen Beecroft, Andrew Hennessee, Jack Suess

Bixby: Brennan Boles, Chance Criss, Ben Moeller, Dylan Teeter

Broken Arrow: Kaden Armstrong, Tyler Collier, Max Gotcher, Conner Herzberg, Gabe Replogle

Cascia Hall: Jake Dukes, Jack Gero, JJ Peters, Will Sides, Trent Westbrook

Claremore: Will Bethea, Christian Gotcher, Jordan Gotcher, Trenton Strawderman, John Williams

Claremore Sequoyah: Talon Funk, Peyton Lane, Zach Perry

Collinsville: Canon Hunt, Walker Roberts

Coweta: Tanner Griffith, Conner Meehan, Josh Mills

Cushing: Jason Grellner

Dewey: Hayden Thornton

Edison: Anthony Manipella

Fort Gibson: Cade Waltman

Glenpool: Brandon Aikins, Brian Aikins

Hilldale: Colby Cox, Lance Lienhart, Caleb York

Holland Hall: Allan Kalapura, Ayden Korn, Brett VanHooser

Inola: Carson Stookey

Jenks: Tyler Cornwell, Gavin Fox, Kyle McDoulett, Dudley McElhaney. Jamen Parsons

Keys: Isaac Latta

Lincoln Christian: Cale Branstetter, Cole Fingerle, Jaxson Leek, Titan Stone

Metro Christian: Wes Burns

Nowata: Maddox Bullen, Alex Covarrubias, Mark Price

Oologah: Soulai Vang, Toufue Vue

Owasso: Antonio Gilestra, Braden Lang, Tyler Rhodes

Pawnee: Trent Hixon

Pawhuska: Ty Chinn

Pryor: Carson Murray

Sapulpa: Evan Linfoot

Regent Prep: Grant Benjamin, Karsten Sanders

Rejoice Christian: Hayden Hall, Cole Inouye

Stillwater: Bennett Baldwin, John Blake, Noah Bratton, Eric Schuessler

Stroud: JD Lankford

Tahlequah: Cooper Ferrell, Seth Mascho

Union: Mackee Bonaobra

Victory Christian: Mason Hill, Christian Ross, Buddy Wehrli

Previous Winners


2018: Matthew Braley, Cascia Hall

2017: Carson Griggs, Sand Springs

2016: Matthew Braley, Cascia Hall

2015: Justin Moore, Broken Arrow

2014: Casey Paul, Owasso

2013: Brendon Jelley, Jenks

2012: Jackson Hess, Okmulgee

2011: Colton Staggs, Jenks, and Charlie Saxon, Cascia Hall

2010: Charlie Saxon, Cascia Hall

2009: Karsten Majors, Bixby

2008: Stephen Carney, Union

2007: Mark Johnson, Jenks

2006: Draegen Majors, Bixby

2005: Ty Sanders, Jenks


2018: Kem Morrow, Bixby

2017: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2016: No award given

2015: Lindsay Jones, Union

2014: Corey Burd, Owasso

2013: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2012: Shawn Lawhorn, Bishop Kelley

2011: Bo Belcher, Broken Arrow

2010: Jeff Rude, Bartlesville

2009: Brian Rahilly, Cascia Hall

2008: Brent Wilcoxen, Jenks

2007: Everett Mahaney, Metro Christian

2006: Wade Weller, Cascia Hall

2005: Sparky Grober, Holland Hall

How the team was picked

Nomination forms were emailed to athletic directors and coaches in the All-World area. Schools within 60 miles of downtown Tulsa and schools within 75 miles of downtown in a town with a population of 5,000 or more are considered to be in the All-World area. Freshmen through seniors were eligible. World sports writer Mike Brown made the final selections after reviewing the forms and consulting with coaches.

Featured video

Get your All-World Awards tickets for the June 22 event celebrating high school athletics at

Photo gallery: Here are the 2018-19 fall and winter sports finalists for the third annual All-World Awards in June

Mike Brown


Twitter: @mikebrownTW